Accountability Post – 12/8/16 (Friends)

“It’s nice to just be a kid and hang out with your friends at lunch.” – Karlie Kloss

I’m not sure if I’ve ever written about it on here, but I don’t really like my job. It’s a pretty boring, dead end kinda thing that pays the bills. I have a good schedule, and a decent amount of vacation, which is probably why I’m still here after 14 years.

One of the good things about my job, though, is that I’ve been fortunate enough to make some good friends over the years. And, even though none of them work here anymore, we still try and get together on a regular basis. We grab a lunch here or there, and almost always go see the new Marvel movies together when they come out. Yesterday was one of those lunch days. We usually convene at the Del Taco that’s pretty close to where most of us work, and I’m lucky enough that one of the friends usually buys. There isn’t much better than hanging out with friends having a bite and laughing our way through an hour.

I wouldn’t give those times up for anything, but it means that when I’m trying to lose weight I have to figure out alternatives to what I would normally eat. I love Del Taco, especially because I like the mix of Mexican and American food. You just can’t beat a taco and fries1. I usually have a burger, medium fries, and a crunchy ground beef taco. That’s a total of approximately 1300 calories2. Obviously, I needed to cut back those calories while still being able to enjoy time with my friends…so I skipped the burger, had two carne asada street tacos, and a small order of fries. That cut about 800 calories out of my lunch, and left me room to have a good dinner, while still staying under my calorie goal for the day.

Also, it has now been 13 days since my last soda.

Calorie Diary – 12/7/16
Budget: 1500
Total Consumed: 1440

Footnotes

1. Especially crinkle fries. I love crinkle fries.
2. And that doesn’t even include the soda.

Leave a Reply

