Accountability – 12/2/16 (Moderation)

“I have a wonderfully hedonistic appetite, and if I wasn’t really strict with myself, I’d weigh 300 pounds. I’m not good with moderation.” – Nick Offerman

I can relate to the above quote. Unfortunately, I’m also not that good at being strict with myself either…but I’m working on it. Case in point: yesterday, after work, I was on my way to pick up the kids from school. There is a McDonald’s on the corner of the last intersection that I go through before I get to the school. When not trying to lose weight, or really caring about what I’m eating, stop there on the way to grab a burger and a soda, maybe some fries before I pick the kids up. Yesterday, I really wanted an iced tea, so I stopped in. Unfortunately, I had a craving for a burger as soon as I pulled in. Now, when I go to McDonald’s I usually get two double cheeseburgers, a large order of fries, and a large soda1. Yesterday, though, I controlled myself. I had one cheeseburger2, no french fries, and a large unsweetened iced tea. That’s a difference of over 1300 calories. Not too shabby, and it shows that I’m, at the very least, trying.

Calorie diary:

Budget: 1500
Total consumed: 1418

Footnotes

1. Gross, I know.
2. The bun to meat ratio sucks on a McDonald’s single cheeseburger.

Leave a Reply

