Accountability – 12/1/16 (Perspective)

“The fact that we live at the bottom of a deep gravity well, on the surface of a gas covered planet going around a nuclear fireball 90 million miles away and think this to be normal is obviously some indication of how skewed our perspective tends to be.” – Douglas Adams; The Salmon of Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time

Douglas Adams is one of my favorite authors, and perspective is something I’ve had a hard time figuring out lately. As I stated earlier this week, the last time I tried to lose weight was extremely successful…until it wasn’t. I remember being pretty good about what I was eating, and exercising. So, the fact that I’m having a hard time getting started this time around has been frustrating so far.

I think that I’m only remembering the good stuff, though. I’m not really remembering the frustration of trying to get started for almost six months (October 2014 when I started this blog, through May 2015, when I started the meatless month experiment.) I ran a 5K eight months ago, and now, because of choices I’ve made, I can barely walk up a flight of stairs without huffing and puffing. I want to just jump back into running, but, of course, it doesn’t work that way. I’m trying to gain that perspective, and hopefully writing about it today will help…a little.

As for yesterday’s food diary, I did pretty well.

I woke up early and made myself some eggs and toast. I had a protein shake for a mid morning snack. Orange chicken and vegetables was my lunch selection, with granola for an afternoon snack. I finished the day at Pei Wei, where I had edamame and vegetable spring rolls. I didn’t get any exercise in, but I did play Madden 2017. That counts, right?

Calorie Diary – 11/30/16

Budget: 1500
Total Consumed: 1463

Leave a Reply

