Back At It – 11/28/16

Has it really been almost 15 months since I posted to this blog? From the fact that I’m posting now, (and the title of today’s post) you can probably reason out two things. 1.) I’m getting back into trying to lose weight. 2.) I didn’t keep off the weight I lost.

Both of those things are true.

In those 15 months, I’ve had some ups, and a lot of downs. I actually got to within about 10 pounds of my goal weight. When I started Send Me On My Weigh, I weighed 224 pounds, and wanted to lose 60 pounds. I actually got down to 175 in the fall of 2015. I was running a lot, including during my family’s vacation to Walt Disney World last November. I spent the beginning of 2016 training to run my first 5K, and I did. I ran a St. Patrick’s Day 5K in March, and finished with a time of 35:17, which I was pretty happy about for my first time.

Unfortunately, after that, I went through a bout of depression, and had some very low moments in my life. I’m not going to go into them here, but if you’re reading this, ask me about it. If I know you well enough, I might spill some secrets. I ended up gaining back all the weight I lost, and then some. I currently weigh 237 pounds. That’s quite the reversal, and putting it in virtual ink hurts. However, I’m determined to get back to where I was, and it starts now.

Actually, it started Saturday.  I haven’t had a soda since Friday morning, 11/25/16. I’ve worked out both of the past two days, and stayed under my calorie count on Saturday. I did go over on Sunday, but that’s because we had pie…who says no to pie1?

I’m hoping to get back into a normal posting schedule, which will, hopefully, help me stay accountable to myself2.

Footnotes

1.Yeah, that’s probably not a good attitude to start off with…but it was still Thanksgiving weekend.
2. I know…I’ve heard it before, as well.
 

 

Leave a Reply

