Accountability Post – 7/1/15

“Accountability breeds response-ability.” – Stephen Covey

I know, I know, I know.

I haven’t been keeping this updated, and that means that I haven’t been holding myself accountable. As I posted in today’s weigh-in post, I’ve lost another two pounds, over the 16 days since I last weighed in. That’s a good thing, but is also significantly slower than it has been previously. Have I hit the dreaded weight loss plateau? I’m not sure that’s it.

During those 16 days, there have been some changes:

1.) I haven’t been as vigilant about eating meat. I’ve been eating it more often, although not as often as I was before I started.

2.) I’ve just been eating more in general.

3.) I’ve started using the Misfit Shine to track my activity.

I think that numbers two and three are connected, but I’ll get there in a minute.

The first one is completely on me. I’ve been lazy about trying to figure out better ways to eat, and settling for things that weren’t quite as good for me. I’ve been making bad choices when going out with my family1, and making only “okay” choices when I’m by myself. I need to change that, and am confident that I will.

Number two is a little trickier, because of number 3. The Shine tracks my activity, and feeds the information about how many calories I’ve burned over my estimated basal metabolism to MyFitnessPal, which is where I track my caloric intake. I have a feeling that the Shine over estimates a little bit, though, which is why my weight loss has decreased dramatically. Number 2 from above ends up becoming a problem, because I look at what the Shine is telling MyFitnessPal, and I think I have more room to eat a little bit more, and work out a little bit less. That’s problematic. I’ve decided to unlink my Shine from MyFitnessPal and start tracking manually again. We’ll see over the next few weeks if that makes much of a difference.

Calorie Diary – 6/30/15

Budget: 19502
Total Consumed: 1508

Footnotes

1. I have to say that the Brown Sugar Bacon BLT at Arby’s is sooo good, and, at 600 calories, not nearly as heavy as I thought it would be.
2. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

