Weekly Accountability – 6/15/15

“Good habits formed at youth make all the difference.” – Aristotle

Over the last few years, I’ve tried numerous times, with varying degrees of success, to lose weight. As I’ve done so, I’ve tried to stress to my kids how the habits that I learned as a kid ended up getting me into the predicament I’m in. When I was a kid, I had a really high metabolism, and was always pretty skinny. It didn’t matter how much I ate, I never gained any weight. As a result, I ate a lot, and it was all pretty bad for me.

Unfortunately, some of those bad habits that I’ve been trying to curb came back to haunt me this weekend: I ate meat every day this weekend. We had pizza together as a family on Friday night. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary on Saturday night, which we did by going to the 1940s Ball in Boulder, and then we went out for a steak dinner. Yesterday, my family went to Steak N Shake for lunch, and I had a burger…because that’s pretty much the only thing to eat at Steak N Shake.

I will point out, though, that I did a good job all weekend of managing my calories and most of the other categories that I track on MyFitnessPal1. For the week, I was under my calorie budget by about ten percent, and there wasn’t a single day last week where I went over my calorie budget.

Today is a new day, and this week is a new week, and I have another chance to change the bad habits that I’ve spent my life accruing.

Weekly Calorie diary – 6/8-6/14

Budget: 11745
Total consumed: 104972

Footnotes

1. Except sodium. That continues to be a problem.
2. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

