Accountability – 6/12/15

“I’m trying to cut down a little on eating, on sodium, keep my blood pressure down, which is tough. Because I love food! I do, but it’s unfair how everything that’s bad for you tastes so good, and all the good stuff, veggies and green things, doesn’t match up.” – Ice Cube

Sunflower seeds are my downfall. I love them. I like to get a jumbo bag and just eat and spit until they’re all gone. Since I started this journey to get healthier, the one thing that has kept cropping up as a problem is my sodium intake. On MyFitnessPal, the goal that they set for me when I signed up was 2300 mg of sodium a day. I usually eat somewhere in the 3000 range, and one of the big reasons is my love for sunflower seeds.

The scary thing about it is that I’ve been very good about tracking how many sunflower seeds I eat at at time. I keep a measuring cup at my desk at work, and I measure out a serving, and that’s all I eat in a day. It’s scary to think about how much sodium I was getting when I wasn’t measuring them out and just munching every day.

Let’s take yesterday as an example.

nutrients - 061115

As you can see, I had a pretty good day yesterday. I ate less than 1300 calories, barely went over on fat and sugar, and almost hit my protein goal. But, I had 3186 mg of sodium. And, it’s easy to see why, when 1 serving of sunflower seeds has 1280 mg of sodium. From now on, I think I’m going to try and kick sunflower seeds. I would almost be better off eating a kid size order of McDonald’s french fries than eating the sunflower seeds.1.

Calorie diary – 6/11/15
Budget – 14782
Total consumed – 1289

As always, thanks for following me on my journey.

Footnotes

1. A kid size order of McDonald’s french fries has 110 calories, 5 grams of fat, zero cholesterol, and 65 mg of sodium. Looks like I might’ve been better off.
2. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

