Accountablity – 6/11/15

“Let’s face it: fitness is boring. But it’s critical to be extremely dedicated to whatever you decide to take up to achieve a desired result. There’s no way you are going to get there without dedication, which is the key for me.” – Harbhajan Singh

Dedication to getting into shape is something that I haven’t always had. It’s probably why I never end up sticking with any particular program for more than a few months. I think I might be turning a corner, though.

Yesterday was a day where I wasn’t exactly sure how I was going to get my workout in. I did walk on both of my breaks, as I usually do, which is approximately 2 miles combined. However, my podcast partner, Jason and I had scheduled the recording of a special episode of Podvocacy covering the first season of Netflix’s Daredevil for yesterday afternoon. I knew that I wouldn’t have time to work out between the podcast recording and my band’s rehearsal last night. I planned my meals in the morning, and would’ve been fine. The problem was that after I ate dinner, I was still a little bit hungry…and really wanted some more of Pei Wei’s edamame. That put me over my calorie budget for the day, but I figured I could work out after I got home from rehearsal.

When I got home, my wife and I ended up having an almost two hour conversation about some things that went on in her day, and by the time we finished, it was after 11:00. Typically, I would’ve just called it a day and gone to bed. But, I felt like I needed to work out, so I did 30 minutes of dance plus three sets of push ups (10 reps per set) and three sets of squats (15 reps per set).

At the end of it, I was within my calorie budget for the day, and I felt pretty good about what I had accomplished.

Calorie Diary – 6/11/15

Budget: 16881
Total Consumed: 1675

Footnotes

1. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

