Weekly Accountability – 6/8/15

“I’m a Midwesterner! Not being able to have a cheeseburger once in a while would be torture!” – Jessica Capshaw

It has been four weeks since I started this journey. As of Friday night, I had eaten meat three times in that period, which is pretty much a record for me. I hadn’t had a cheeseburger in (for me) a very long time…so I decided to treat myself. My band had a gig on Saturday night at Civic Center Park in downtown Denver. I parked at a local parking garage which was about a quarter of a mile away from the park, and proceeded to walk to the park. I was pretty early (as I typically am), which left me enough time to go grab something to eat. As I said a few lines ago, I decided to treat myself at one of my favorite fast food restaurants, Good Times (a local Colorado chain). Their burgers are delicious, as are their “Wild Fries”, which are extra seasoned french fries.

I am not worried about this becoming a habit for a few reasons:

1.) I looked at it as a treat. To me, a treat is different from a reward. I’m not rewarding myself for losing weight or for my self control over the past few weeks. A treat is something you do because you’re being nice, and a reward is something you do because someone has earned it. I think that saying I’ve “earned” a cheeseburger is pretty faulty…although I guess the same could be said about a cheeseburger being something nice I’m doing for myself. Oh well. At least I passed up a McDonald’s to get a higher quality cheeseburger.

2.) I resisted the temptation to get a cheeseburger last night. After my band plays at the Mercury Cafe, I almost always stop at Wendy’s on the way home. This is the first time I’ve broken that pattern…although I really wanted to stop.

3.) Even though I think it’s faulty to say I earned the cheeseburger, I made getting it hard on myself. I walked an extra mile and a half on Saturday to get to Good Times and back to the park where we were playing. I think the journey was worth it, and while I may not have burned off all the calories of the burger and fries, that walk burned a good chunk of them.

Weekly calorie diary – 6/1-6/7

Budget: 124691
Total consumed: 11331

Footnotes

1. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

