Accountability – 6/5/15

“He, who every morning plans the transactions of the day, and follows that plan, carries a thread that will guide him through a labyrinth of the most busy life.” – Victor Hugo

Since I started this journey a few weeks ago, I’ve tried very hard to plan my meals early in the day. Sometimes, though, things don’t work out and you have to ad lib. Unfortunately, yesterday was one of those days.

My plan had been an Atkins shake for breakfast, left over spaghetti for lunch, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for dinner. Unfortunately, when I got home and heated up the spaghetti, I discovered that the it was inedible. On top of that, we had no bread thawed, so I couldn’t even make myself a sandwich. At that point, I felt like I was left with little choice but to try and figure out a fast food option, since I’d killed half of my lunch break at that point.

I didn’t feel like having a veggie sub, but wanted to stay with a meatless lunch. I ended up deciding on a cheese quesadilla from Del Taco. Unfortunately, when I walked in, all I could smell was their french fries, so I made the choice to get an order of them as well. I’m a sucker for crinkle fries.

There are worse choices I could have made, as my plan at that point still had me under my calorie goal. I also worked out pretty hard yesterday, walking 2+ miles and dancing for more than half an hour. By the end of the day, I was extremely successful in terms of calories, and in terms of making decisions on the fly that made success possible.

Planning is important, but it’s also important to be able to figure out what to do when plans go awry.

Calorie Diary – 6/4/15

Budget: 20471
Total Consumed: 1759

Footnotes

1. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

