Accountability – 5/29/15

“I’ve always said fashion is like roast chicken: You don’t have to think about it to know it’s delicious.” – Alber Elbaz

Speaking of roast chicken, that’s what we had for family dinner last night. I don’t believe that I’ve ever specifically said that I’m going vegetarian. Three weeks ago, when I got back on the bicycle to try and get healthy, I decided that I was going to cut meat out of my diet for at least a month. However, in the back of my mind, this was more of a ploy to fool my brain into not eating quality meat. I have a bad habit, even when trying to get healthy in the past, of eating fast food…as long as the calories fit in. That’s probably not all that productive. As I said back on May 11, not eating meat will help, because it will give me no reason to go to McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Burger King, etc.
Unfortunately, with a family of meat eaters, not eating meat becomes more difficult, because then you have to do one of two things:

1.) Deprive your family of something that they like, for your benefit. That’s a little bit selfish.
2.) Make two separate dinners. One for you, and one for everyone else.

Last night was, as most Thursday nights are, family night. We don’t always make the time to sit down and eat dinner together, primarily because of everyone’s schedules. However, we usually spend Thursday evenings eating together and playing a game or watching something special on tv. Last night, I was having trouble trying to figure out what we should serve for dinner. I decided to ask my wife if she wanted me to run out and pick up a rotisserie chicken for dinner. She reminded me that I wasn’t eating meat, and my response was that I didn’t think that some chicken breast with no skin wouldn’t kill me. I was right.

I had a little bit of chicken, and a lot of green beans, and we had a nice dinner as a family. I am going to stay away from meat as a matter of course, but if there aren’t many other options, a small portion of lean meat is probably not the worst thing in the world. One of the important things is that this was a deliberate choice, and not just eating out of habit.

Calorie diary – 5/28/15

Budget: 1645 1
Total Consumed: 1518

Footnotes

1. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

