Accountability – 5/27/15

“My doctor told me to stop having intimate dinners for four. Unless there are three other people.” – Orson Welles

Portion control has long been one of my battles in trying to lose weight. When I’m not trying to lose weight, I will make myself two grilled cheese sandwiches (357 calories each) to start, and then when I’m done with those, go back to the stove and make myself a third one. So, when I’m trying to lose weight, it feels foreign to make one grilled cheese sandwich, and then wash the skillet so that I’m not tempted to make more. It’s one of those little things that I have to do in order to get where I need to go, and I’m glad I’m finally figuring that out.

Yesterday was a day for getting back on track, especially after Monday (I didn’t detail my calorie diary for Monday, but I went over on every nutrient I track. Having a waffle and cream of wheat with a side order of toast for lunch will do that to you.1). I had an Atkins shake for breakfast (160 calories and 15g of protein, and not terrible tasting), one of the aforementioned grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for dinner after I finished editing the latest episode of Podvocacy. I took a short walk on my morning break, and with some snacks thrown in, I was right around my calorie goal. I was close to all my other nutrient goals as well, going over a little bit on my fat and more on my sugar than I would have liked.

Calorie Diary – 5/26/15

Budget: 13612
Total consumed: 1265

Footnotes

1. I didn’t specify yesterday, but we went to Sam’s No. 3 diner in Downtown Denver. I highly recommend it.
2. This is adjusted by MyFitnessPal for the exercise that I entered.

Leave a Reply

