Weigh in and weekly accountability – 5/26/15

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.” – Winston Churchill

This weekend was Denver Comic Con, and my wife and I attended all three days of the festivities. I had some successes and some failures in terms of my eating habits, but what I can tell you is this…we walked…a lot. If you’d like to hear more about the con, I urge you to listen to this week’s episode of Podvocacy, where I’ll share my thoughts and memories from my first con experience. It should be out sometime tonight.

I didn’t quite make it two weeks without eating meat. By the time we ate dinner on Saturday night, I was really hungry, and hadn’t had much protein, and there wasn’t a lot of options for non meat protein. We opted for sub sandwiches from Which Wich?, which was in the Denver Convention Center complex. After trying to make up my mind, and looking at their nutrition contents on the website, I opted for a BLT lettuce wrap, instead of on bread. That saved me some carbs and calories, so the trade off for meat wasn’t too bad. I also opted for light mayo, which helped cut down the calories as well, and tasted fine.

I also had some issues yesterday, as my wife and I went to a local diner for lunch and had some great (although high in calorie) food. The biggest problem was that their portions were huge…but delicious. I was willing to make the trade, however, and I was able to do without meat.

In terms of success, I really only have one thing to say: I weighed in yesterday, and I’m down to 212 pounds, which is 13 pounds over all.

In keeping with the Churchill quote, I’m neither satisfied by my successes, nor am I disappointed by my failures. In fact, I just kind of laughed when I saw how much I was eating yesterday. I figure that as long as it’s the exception, I’m doing okay.

I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day.

Leave a Reply

