Portion size is key – 10/30/14

I’ve always been a “big eater,” especially when it comes to my favorite foods. I remember in junior high school, my mom would take me to McDonald’s, and I would typically eat two triple cheeseburgers, a large order of fries and usually two sodas. What can I say? I had a high metabolism, and I found it really hard to put on weight. Even in college, this was true. For me, the “Freshman Fifteen” was how much weight I lost my first year of college. I thought my high metaboolism1 was a blessing at the time, but it turned out to be a curse, because it developed bad habits, and those bad habits are why I weigh as much as I do now.

One of the changes that I’ve been trying to make2 is to control the portions of food that I eat. I’ve noticed that I’m having some success, especially when it comes to fast food. As an example, let’s take yesterday. My band rehearses on Wednesdays, about a 40-45 minute drive from my house. Dinner on Wednesdays typically consists of fast food, because I don’t really have time to cook before I leave. Last night, I went to Wendy’s, because it’s one of my favorite fast food restaurants. Two months ago, a trip to Wendy’s would have resulted in me eating the following:

  • A half pound double with cheese
  • A large order of fries
  • A medium Dr Pepper (with a refill)

That meal is over 1900 calories. That’s more than my entire daily budget right now. The comparison to what I ate last night is stark. Last night’s meal was:

  • A Junior Bacon Cheeseburger
  • A small order of fries
  • A large iced tea(with a refill)

That’s 700 calories, not even half of my daily budget. That’s huge! If I can keep making strides like that, I feel pretty good about the direction that my eating habits are going in.

Calorie Diary: 10/29/14
Budget: 1708
Total Calories: 1349

As always, thanks for reading!

Footnotes

1. This is a typo that I was going to correct, until I realized that it was appropriate for the season. Happy Halloween!
2. If you’ve been reading this blog for long, you’ll know I’m not always successful.

Leave a Reply

