The Frustrations of Planning – 10/23/14

When I know ahead of time that I’m going to be going out for dinner, I try to plan my meals for the day ahead of time, so that I know exactly how I’m going to stay inside my calorie budget. Yesterday was one of those days.

I knew I was going to stop on my way to band rehearsal for wings and maybe a cold beverage, so I planned that into my day earlier in the afternoon. I had it all planned out, and I would have been about 150 calories under my budget. Unfortunately, the best laid plans of mice and men will often go awry. I got there, and they were out of Guinness. I like a nice, cold, creamy stout with my wings, and I was disappointed. I had to make a quick judgment to figure out what I was going to drink, and ended up going with Angry Orchard Hard Cider. I had a nice dinner, where I sat and read and watched a little bit of game 2 of the World Series.

When I got to my destination, I updated my dinner selections in the “Lose It” app. In doing so, I discovered that while Guinness has 210 calories to a pint, Angry Orchard has 280 calories. I still managed to stay under my calorie budget by about 90 calories, but it did remind me that planning is great, but I do need to keep a backup plan in mind, just in case things don’t go my way.

Calorie Diary: 10/22/14
Budget: 1741
Total Calories: 1650

Leave a Reply

