Habits – 10/15/14

Part of the reason for this blog, is to remind myself how I’m doing in breaking old habits, and creating new ones. One of the new habits I’m trying to create is this, right here. Writing is something that doesn’t come particularly easy for me, but I want to get better, and it seems like if I want to get better, I have to write as much as possible. This is my way of telling you that I’m writing merely for the sake of writing at this point, because I don’t have a lot to say.

I’m also working on my sleep habits, as that is something else my doctor told me that I have to make changes to. I have a tendency to fall asleep on the couch watching television at the end of the night, and then go into the bedroom, which he told me disrupts my REM cycle. I’ve been trying to do better, but am having a hard time. I actually ended up falling asleep on the couch last night, and was still there when the phone on my alarm went off. To paraphrase the genie from Aladdin: One night on the couch will give you such a crick in the neck!

genie

You’re comparing one night on a couch to 10,000 years stuck in a lamp? Jerk.

In terms of food, yesterday was a pretty standard day. I stayed under my calorie budget, and made mostly1 good choices. My goal is to try and make those days when I go over on my calories look like anomalies,2 by surrounding them with days when I stay under.

Calorie Diary: 10/15/14
Budget: 1741
Total Calories: 14373

Footnotes

1. Falling asleep on the couch does not constitute a “good choice.” I also should’ve opted for light mayo on the sub I had for lunch.
2. Continuing the running Neo/Architect discussion metaphor for this week.
3. This was originally listed as 2174, which was my total for 10/14. Corrected on 10/17.

One thought on “Habits – 10/15/14

Leave a Reply

